SERVING THE GREATER ROCHESTER AREA

585.270.8882

Menu

Attorney

Contact

Testimonials

Can I Get A Cdl In New York With A Dwi Arrest?

A DWI conviction can have many negative consequences on your life, but not all of them may be apparent until later on. Sure, you have to pay fines, attend court, face a suspended license, and maybe even go to jail—but can a DWI arrest damage your chances at getting a commercial driver’s license (CDL)?

After a first-offense DWI, your license is suspended for 90 days. A second offense results in at least a 6-month suspension, aside from a number of other consequences. If you’re under 21 when you’re arrested, your license can be suspended for up to 6 months to a year. So how does this affect a CDL?

COMMERCIAL DRIVER’S LICENSE (CDL)

A commercial driver’s license is a type of driver’s license you can apply for to transport interstate or intrastate commerce. If you’re going to operate a vehicle of 26,001 pounds or more, which transports quantities of hazardous materials that requires warning placards signs or is designed to transport 16 or more passengers, you need a CDL. If you want to be a truck driver, you need a CDL. But what happens if you’re arrested and charged for DWI? Does that affect your chances at getting a CDL?

GETTING A CDL WITH A DWI

Anyone with a suspended driver’s license in New York is not eligible for a CDL. Aside from that, you may not apply for a CDL for at least 1 year after a DWI arrest. A second DWI conviction can result in a lifetime ban.

CDL REINSTATEMENT

After serving your period of disqualification, you can apply for a CDL by paying the associated fees and submitting documents that the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles requests. You may be successful in obtaining a CDL with your DWI record, but companies could be reluctant to hire a driver with a DWI. Even if you do receive your CDL, you may have to pay higher insurance premiums.

If you have been arrested for driving while intoxicated, contact our Rochester DWI lawyer at King Law today to discuss your case. Our team of professionals can protect your rights and fight the charges on your behalf.

Call (585) 270-8882 or contact us online for a free case evaluation.

Categories

July 29, 2020

What Will Happen If I Refuse a Breathalyzer Test After a DWI Stop?
Read More

July 22, 2020

How Does the Serious Injury Threshold Work in New York Car Accident Lawsuits?
Read More

July 16, 2020

Recent Changes to New York State Laws: Police Misconduct and Criminal Defense
Read More

July 7, 2020

Options for Filing a Claim After a Personal Injury on a Construction Site
Read More