Serving The Greater Rochester Area

How Long Do I Have to File a Personal Injury Claim?

In the state of New York, victims of accidents caused by another party’s negligence are entitled to file a personal injury claim against the responsible party in pursuit of compensation for their suffering. These claims, however, must be filed within a certain amount of time in order to be heard by the courts. This is because nearly all types of lawsuits are subject to a statute of limitations, or a window of time in which a person is permitted to pursue legal action. These time limits will vary on a state-by-state basis depending on the certain type of lawsuit.

In the case of personal injury lawsuits, the statute of limitations allows accident victims to file a claim within three years of their accident. If a claim involves New York City authorities or a government agency, a notice of claim must be filed within 90 days and a lawsuit must be filed within one year and ninety days. Wrongful death and medical malpractice claims must be filed within two years and six months.

If this time period expires and a person has not yet filed a claim, they will no longer be able to seek legal action and will lose their right to compensation. For this reason, it is imperative that injured parties contact an attorney as soon as possible to ensure they meet all relevant deadlines.

Contact a Skilled Rochester Personal Injury Lawyer

If you have been injured by another person or business’ careless actions, a top-rated Rochester personal injury attorney from King Law can represent your interests in court and help you pursue maximum financial recovery for your injuries. Having handled hundreds of trials over more than 10 years of legal practice, your case is sure to be in excellent hands.

Call (585) 286-5124 or request a free consultation today to get started towards filing a claim.